Mama of 5, Wife, Photographer, Belly Dancer, Instructor, AVON Rep, Homemaker, Homesteader, and more. NON-STOP!
Thursday, October 24, 2013
Shop my AVON store!
Shop my AVON store!: Here's a sneak peak at some of the latest products available at Avon. Be sure to click
Monday, October 21, 2013
Michigan Winter Wonderland... Here it comes.
Michigan Winter Wonderland...
The Non-Stop Mama
Founder of Group "What Would Mama Do?" and fanpage "What Would Mama Do?"
As much as I want to stomp my feet and throw a big baby tantrum over the snow that fell today, I won't. I actually enjoy the white stuff when it's pretty and not all wet and icy. Although, I DO love to photograph ice storm aftermaths!
What I do not like, is to drive in it. That is where me and winter do not get along. If I could hibernate from December to March, I would. Several years ago I got into a minor accident on my own dirt road covered in a layer of ice and water. On Christmas Eve too. I was pregnant with my son, very early in the pregnancy, and I was fearful of driving from that point on. I was only going 15 MPH when I hit a bump in the road and the vehicle went sliding to and fro across the road. Big trucks like to go through in front of my house and leave big huge ruts in the mud. Then last year, we had another, even worse, accident caused by some negligent non-certified WalMart TLE workers leaving my lug nuts loose and leaving my Oil cap off to further prove negligence. Tire flew off and we went swerving everywhere. My infant son was in the car. So, I refuse to let anyone in my family be on the roads when they are bad now. Life is more important.
My daughter's want to learn more about Yule this year, so we will be having some lessons and crafting and lots of fun stuff! Plenty of time since I will be taking some time off from belly dancing for the worse part of winter. Will give me time to regroup and refresh!
I'm already setting up my Holiday shoot in my head! I want to do a fake snow and white lights in the background this year :) Maybe a tree limb with some ornaments hanging on them. I also started advertising my yearly "Sponsor a Family Portrait" donation event that I do. Hopefully this year I'll get more people taking it seriously. I already talked to a local women's shelter and they are going to let me set up there to photograph families that are just starting over. I'll donate certificates to the school's again too.
Oh! I signed up a few Avon recruits today! I'm on my way to becoming a Unit Leader real soon!
So bring on the lost mittens and the pink cheeks and red noses. It just means we are a few more weeks closer to more photo opportunities for this photographer!
Good Night!
The Non-Stop Mama
Coolcaptures@aol.com
Wednesday, October 16, 2013
My thoughts concerning Michigan's pansy action towards Marriage equality today.
"I can sin, but you can't!"
The Non-Stop Mama
Founder of Group "What Would Mama Do?" and fanpage "What Would Mama Do?"
I'm a bit upset that my state is not yet one of the states that allow LGBT marriage. It was to be settled today but the Judge decided to do what he does best, it is on hold til next year again. Way to appease the people Scared Sir. I wanted to write to some people I've read in different forums today, so..
Dear Forum Thumpers,
I can not for the life of me understand some of the people that I've seen fighting over Marriage rights on the news forums today. You have people claiming to be Good Wholesome religious folk in one breath and turning into racist fanatics full of hell and spitfire the next because its a mortal sin to have a man love a man and two women raising a baby together that one of them had... and they write this while they sit there in their fake leather computer chairs, wearing blended fabrics with short haircuts and Tattoo's that have some kind of scripture with frilly ribbons and doves around it, while eating a crabcake and every other thing that the 'Good book' says is punishable by stoning. But take the ONE thing that they Don't like 'seeing' or 'hearing' about that is an 'abomination' to them, and they turn into pitchfork wielding, scripture (fitting only to their cause at hand but not about their own sins) tooting, hypocrits. Yes, I said it. Molly Mae is chasing a Gay couple down the internet highway with her stretchy jeans on... Lord have Mercy! she is typing.
*sigh* I just.. don't get it.
Now mind you, I am a married woman. I have my spirituality, and I respect others for theirs too, but don't be a hypocrite! I can not STAND a Hypocrite! If you are GOING to LIVE it, then live it for yourself as well. You say to us who stand behind our community that Your 'sins' are forgivable, well if you see their act as a sin, then I guess it is 'forgivable' for them too in your beliefs. So, Get over it.
What does this have to do with being on a Mama blog? Let me tell you! I have raised some VERY outgoing, understanding, and accepting children. I have told my children since the day they could understand me that Human beings are OK to love Human beings. I didn't teach them that Man loves Woman and Woman Loves Man ONLY. Human beings love Human beings. I am a Human being who has loved other Human beings. I chose the Human being I am with now because I love him and he loves me. I have chosen other human beings to be with for amounts of time in my life as well because I felt love for them too. Am I saying that I am LGBT? Yes. I am. Proudly. And my children know it too. I'm never ashamed of my lifestyle. And I think that helped them to be better people. They do not bully and they do not discriminate.
So, I want each of you out there to take deep looks at yourself. What kind of person are you to judge another for having love for another human being? Who are you to tell them they can't love each other? Why are you playing "God" and telling them no? If you truly believe that they will be judged for this, then let it be God who judges them and you just , excuse me while I put aside my manners for just a moment, YOU just shut the hell up, sit down, and let God do her job. Good night and Sweet dreams.
The Non-Stop Mama
CoolCaptures@aol.com
http://www.youravon.com/shimmyhips
http://www.coolcapturesphotography.com
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
Sign This? Tie this! Can turtles feel this? YELLOW!
Sign This? Tie this! Can turtles feel this? YELLOW!
The Non-Stop Mama
Founder of Group "What Would Mama Do?" and fanpage "What Would Mama Do?"
Ah! The school bus has officially brought my children home and my house begins to fill with the sounds of demands, questions, "Guess what so-and-so did today!?", rustling hands through cabinets and my hair.. frazzling.
The Joys of being a Mama! I would not trade it for the world.
My Three year anniversary is upon us today. My husband and I did a small family handfasting ceremony on this day three years ago because we could not set a wedding date. Those of you who have had to go through immigration will understand fully. When you do things the RIGHT way, it cost a LOT and it takes a LOT of time!. You do not know when you will receive your loved one back as they sit across the seas and you are both bum rushing the mailman when he or she arrives, in hopes that the next USCIS envelope has arrived. It is long, grueling and, so worth it. I don't know where I would be right now without him. As crazy as he drives me sometimes, (They are men.. that's their jobs.), I am so lucky to have him.
We chose our wedding date for two reasons. 1) We had to be married before a 90 day fiance' visa expired. 2) October 15th was the anniversary of us meeting in person at the airport, looking each other in the eyes, and knowing that that was who was meant for me.
That first time he came here for three months, and he dropped to his knee, on Thanksgiving, with my family all around us, and for once in my life a person proposed to me the correct way. Not in a letter, not in a demand, not anything but the right way.
So, Happy Anniversary to my Love, My Heart, My Soul. Many years to come!
Now, back to the noise. What was all the excitement? What was I signing!? CAN the Turtle feel that? (Yes he can!) And Yellow?
From back to front. Yellow.. my 1 year old son's favorite color. He reminds us ALL DAY! In this cute high pitched overjoyed yell, his plump pink cheeks gaining dimples as he acknowledges that you are excited about YELLOW! too!
Can the Turtle feel my daughter tap, tap, tapping on his shell? Well he's flinching is he not!? For crying out loud put the turtle down!
Yes I tied the shoe.
And, last but certainly NOT the least, a second teenager in my household is now being inducted into the National Honor Society (NHS). My oldest son, (The college boy) was inducted into NTHS (National Technical Honor Society), and now my oldest Band Nerd daughter, is being inducted into NHS! I'm proud!
That was the excitement!
And it is exciting. Good Job kids, you me proud!
Onto work. I'll be taking another Rep into my AVON team! I WILL become a Unit Leader! I will I will! My fanpage is holding a contest right now! You should check it out! (Look for the Breast cancer heart ornament.) Shimmy Hips AVON and While I am on the subject of AVON! I am wearing their Perfume "Passion." right now. (I'm not a full on Hippy Homesteader, my property is a Homestead.. and I say that with respect for the Hippy Homesteaders, I still love ya!) Anyhow, the "Passion" perfume is a mixture of Madagascar Vanilla, Jasmine, and starfruit. I'm really picky about my perfumes and usually will stick to the same scent for years. (JLo was my last long term addiction.. first bottle given to me by my ex mother in law in 2005, still wearing it occasionally, before that .. it was Chloe Narcisse. .. mmmm. ) Anyhow, it is not released YET (Reps who went to the holiday meeting got a tester to use) , but will be released soon. IF you have a Rep, by all means ask her about the special Gift set that we will be selling for $36.00 and comes with free body lotion. Don't have a rep? HAVE ME! Shimmy Hips AVON Online Catalog
I worked on our Talent For Charity event some today, things are kind of at a stand still for a few days because I have to get some flyers going around, but I did get two more people pledged to sponsor by purchasing a Vendor spot. Awesome!
Am I Crocheting today? YOU BET I have been! I'm working on a Snood for my sister. My Sister is kind of Snoody... (Slaps knee and laughs) If I can get good at this, I'll make a ton of them this winter for selling at the Renaissance Festival when we perform! I am going to put them on a wooden rack with a sign that says. "You need to get a little Snoody." on it. Oh man, i kill me.
Well! Folks, That is my update. Don't forget to check into my pages today! Be a GOOD MAMA and teach your kidlets some manners and how to be independent even if you do spoil them because they deserve to be spoiled! :)
Out!
Monday, October 14, 2013
The ever so intimidating First Blog.
Of the Non-Stop Mama.
Founder of the Group "What Would Mama Do?" and Fanpage "What would Mama Do?"
So, as you guessed it, I'm a Mom. Non-Stop mom at that. I DID plan on having at least five children when I decided to have children. I did not, however, decide to do it the way I did. Eventually I may talk about that more but for now, I will just discuss the crazy life that I live, and love, as a Non Stop Mama.
(three and a half hour pause).
Now that Dinner is done, kids in bed and Husband plugged in to his own laptop.. Let me tell you a little bit about this Mama.
I'm 37 years young, Re-married, Five children (Ages 18, 16, 13, 9, and 1) yes.. I said One. Yes, I'm crazy. Yes I know how kids are made. No, I'm not too tired to care for him. Yes, I do spoil him cause I've learned a LOT along the way!
I have MANY jobs. Photographer for Cool Captures Photography, AVON Sales Representative and newly recruiting others to create my own unit, Belly Dance instructor and performer and owner of a troupe that performs for charity events and renaissance festivals, Sisterhood of the Shimmy Hips, and newly becoming an event coordinator for Talent For Charity..
I married a man I knew online for 5 years before we met in person. It was love the moment I looked him in the eyes. Before that.. I thought he was a spoiled rotten, self centered, egotistical, etc etc, asshole because he'd beg me to read his tarot cards, I would read his tarot cards, tell him his relationship was shit or a decision he was making was bad for him, he'd get mad at me and say I made it up, I'd ignore him and we wouldn't talk again til he broke up with the 'bad relationship' or how he got screwed over from a bad decision, and he'd tell me it went exactly as I said it would.
Somehow that slippery little Scotsman would get through my Yahoo blocks or email blocks and
email me again! (He didn't know I blocked him til we started talking again in that 5th year).
Tomorrow.. is our 3rd Wedding anniversary and I've never felt so comfortable with a man in my life. Glad he annoyed me for so long. :)
So, Here's to us, my bratty Scotsman, Happy Anniversary! Now go make me a pot pie.
I suppose I will leave off with one of my Moral rants that ya might want to get used to...
I read today about the "Food Stamp Shopping Spree's" at Wal*mart. I'm pissed! Before I go any further, I SUPPORT feeding our American's. I've been homeless with kids before. I've been working at Wal*mart and not made enough to live off of before. I'd rather we help out people first. But my faith in humanity dropped WAY lower when I read about how SUPER greedy some of these people were, to take advantage of the system like they did. Really!? You think you won't get caught? Are you THAT Dense that you think "Oh.. its free money!" .. I hope they get jail time. I really do. But for Wal*mart to keep checking these people out without calling the issue in like other stores did? How's that for LAZY and not doing your job!?. They should get fined too. These people should get fined, jailed for a few weeks, then go back and sue Wal*mart for urging them to continue robbing the system blind for aiding and abetting a 'robbery'.
SO in closing I will say this. A persons integrity will prove true or false when met with a situation where there is a choice to take the money and run, or stay proud and honest and not give in. What we learned here is that MOST people.. will be dishonest. Keep that in mind when dealing with others.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)